So Why Am I Taking Lessons?

I am a firm believer in goals.  Starting any project without knowing how, why, for how long, how much, etc. usually produces a waste of time and resources.  Music lessons are the same thing.  Before you start you should sit down and ask yourself a few basic questions.  These questions should include:

  1. Why do I want to learn to play?   If you want to play recreationally, you will approach your studies differently than someone who feels they have real talent and has a strong desire to perform professionally.
  2. What am I willing to commit to?  If you can only commit to practicing a few times a week, you need to let your teacher know this.  If you are ready to practice daily, set a goal.  Learning to set and stick to goals will help you develop your skills much more efficiently.
  3. What type of an instrument will I be using?  The purchase of a quality instrument is necessary for any serious student.  Recreational students should still have access to an instrument in working order that they are committed to maintaining.
  4. What time frame am I looking at?  And how will I know when I’m done?  Teachers usually do not encourage setting an end date or exit strategy.  They make more money that way.  A specific goal will make your time in lessons more efficient, more meaningful, and more urgent.
  5. What teacher best can fit what I am looking for?  Or can my current teacher better help me if we work out these goals together?

I have attached a quick start handout that I have begun using with my new students.  Even students who have been taking for a while will see a huge improvement in their focus and motivation if they work out answers to the above questions and fill out the quick start page.     Set Goals

I will go over the specifics of how to set each of these goals in future posts.

About Ms. Cyndi

Passionate about my family, my faith, and teaching music. “To teach a child to love music is to give a gift of character and beauty that will last forever.”
This entry was posted in Practice Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Why Am I Taking Lessons?

  1. Pingback: Online Music Lessons with WorkshopLive. Two Options Available. - Koream Deals

Leave a Reply

